3 years later....I bought the '62 312 Bluebird Wagon...

...that was featured here:  http://community.ratsun.net/topic/20831-1962-datsun-312-wagon/

and here:  http://bringatrailer.com/2010/04/17/never-seen-one-1962-datsun-312-wagon/

Original seller still has it.  I paid less than advertised, I'll pay and pick it up this weekend once he gets some paperwork sorted out on it tomorrow.

Anyway, I'm a Datsun noob, but I know a cool car when I see it.  I hope to get it back on the road (just needs a clutch master or slave cylinder, and I I suspect a carb rebuild or fuel pump). and drive it around town for a while, then decide what to do with it (sell, keep, restore, etc).

Can anyone tell me anything about it that's not obvious from a quick google?

Peace,

Chuck

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Keep in mind that you have an awesome wagon no matter what I say, very rare in this condition.

I only have one thing to say that is negative, that grill may have come on the car stock, but it doesn't look like the grill that is supposed to be on it, this is what I have seen in the past.

B50BeWkKGrHqYOKkYEynzuMdBMu6HsCCdg_3.jpg

Yours almost looks like a truck grill, almost.

Here is another wagon.

SANY0014.jpg

SANY0221.jpg

As I said, this is the grill I am used to seeing on the early bluebirds.

photo-46.jpg

IMG_7043-25.jpg

Yep, it was sold new in Mexico.  The seller I've gotten it from got it from the original family of owners.  He can't drive (He's not, err, well documented) and his son, who can, wants something that can go more than 60 mph.   :)

Wayno, great post, I think metalmonkey is right on the Mexico thing, but either way, I think I like the grill on my wagon a bit better, it looks more British or something.