DMs '76 620 pickup ...first project attempted

deadmonkey

Hello everybody, my name is Angelo. This is my 2nd post. I think this is gonna be a sweet little project. It is my first attempt at "restoring" a vehicle so I am probably going to have allot of questions. Looks like there are allot of knowledgeable people here so this should be fun.

Lost of pictures to come. I gotta get to work.

~DM

• Replies 290
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

OK... so first project; Carb Rebuild!

There was a Webber (32/36 DGAV03B) on one stamp and (983) on another for the Carbs.

So... I drove this truck to the junk yard, 100 mile round trip on, mostly on the freeway before I did anything to the carb. I got a little over 10 mpg on this trip! Upon making it back into town, it would not idle and was nearly screaming at the lights. Tried to ease the clutch out with the breaks on, to idle it down some. Anyways, I got it home just fine, all sorts of goodies in the bed :)

So I take it to work the other day... and it dies in the parking lot. The only way to keep it running is to pump the gas ALLOT. No way I was getting it home the less then 4 miles :)

I pulled the carb in the parking lot and proceeded to go get a rebuild kit for it. First off, the carb wasn't even bolted down!! Secondly some douche bag had siliconed it down to the manifold!! All I did was unhook the fuel line and throttle cable! The entire thing just lifted off. I'm starting to think I'm lucky to even have made it home, let alone to work

Oh, but it gets better. When I pulled the carb a part... there was one of the bottom copper orifices laying in the bottom, the other finger tight and almost all the way out. The top 2 orifices where just sitting there, not even screwed in! Not only am I lucky to have made it home... I'm lucky the thing even ran!