Gaskets and suspension swaps

datb210sun

Hey guys,

I'm still new to Datsun cars. Haven't touched my 75 b210 over a yr and now I want to start working on it. Want to know if anyone have any good source to getting gaskets (heads, oil pan, etc) or your local part stores should carry them? Also, I got my hands on a 280zx struts/brakes to swap out and was told that techno tuning has a conversion kit, but what I don't understand is that why I can't just buy the full conversion kit instead of just using the 280zx struts? Any help would be appreciated.

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Look at it this way. If your car goes through a dip in the road at 60 mph and the body drops to within an inch of the pavement and you lower it 2 inches and try that again you are into some serious damage. If lowering, it's essential that you increase the spring rate and improve the damping or shocks. All cars tend to have somewhat soft springs as it has to please the most buyers. A firmer spring reduces body roll and just handles better. Lowering, lowers the vehicle center of gravity and improves the ride and handling even more. You don't have to cut your springs but you already have them so why the hell not???? you could buy them in the rate you want. 

TT stuff is just too damned expensive for something you adjust once and then drive around on with the money tied up. I put Maxima struts and brakes on my Datsun. It's lower, I increased the spring rate by 50% by trimming the spring, the height is adjustable, although once I got it where I wanted it, (it's stayed there for years) and I replaced the thin hydraulic damper oil with thicker 20W motorcycle for oil to firm up the damping. All this for under $50 CDN. It's not rocket science and the hundreds saved is good for new pads and rotors and a rebuild kit for the 15/16" master cylinder... and more.