L16 running really rough at mid rpms but stops when under load

DirtnastyDatty

So I noticed this about a few weeks ago and still runs fine but around mid rpms or so, it seems like it wants to cut out, idles just fine, and high rpms are usually okay and under load it doesn't do it, but as soon as it's under no load it almost sounds like it's running out of fuel. I'm not good at diagnosing things like this, the carb I'm running is a weber 32/36 and I have a pertronix electronic ignition system. Anything helps, thanks

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

So I noticed this about a few weeks ago and still runs fine but around mid rpms or so, it seems like it wants to cut out, idles just fine, and high rpms are usually okay and under load it doesn't do it, but as soon as it's under no load it almost sounds like it's running out of fuel. I'm not good at diagnosing things like this, the carb I'm running is a weber 32/36 and I have a pertronix electronic ignition system. Anything helps, thanks

First and foremost!! Are you using NGK plugs????????? BP6ES ??? Wrong make and heat ranges change everything.

Sounds like a carb problem.There's a saying that 20% of all carb problems are electrical and 20% of all electrical problems are carb. Just to be sure that it isn't an electrical problem check all electrical wires to the ballast, coil and distributor. With pertronix or points... is the distributor firmly grounded??? At idle and heavy load the engine may be twisting or positioned in it mounts such that everything works but at light throttle vibration may be causing an intermittent connection. Inspect*/clean the plugs. Both suggestions cost nothing to do.

*Plugs can be 'read' and are a good indication of the fuel mixtures coming from the carb.