Valve cover gasket half moon fell into timing cover. retrieval?

Im a novice not clear on alot about this truck but learning the hard way sometimes.  my question is-

Can i remove the oil pan and reach the half moon valve cover gasket i dropped into the bottom of the timing chain cover??

Could it possibly be in the oil pan?

Does anyone know what it looks like at the bottom of the timing chain cover and how much room or opening  between the TC cover and the Oil Pan.

FULL STORY-

Yesterday i replaced the oil pump without spindle drive, distributor and TDC knowledge AND messed it up! Today i Had the valve cover off to watch and learn about valves, lobes, and TDC compression stroke works before i line up the distributor/oil pump drive to make it run like new again in perfect timing.

Then i notice the front half moon is missing..the back one was under the truck...Grief!

I see it at the bottom of the timing chain cover so i duct taped 3 foot of the skinnier water hose to my shop vac hose to suck it up. the skinnier hose made it down and grabbed it but it fell and not visible now. I tried more but No.. i need it to curve now to reach it. I can rig that up but Id rather just remove the Oil Pan for it but i dont know what it looks like down there and if that is just not going to work.

of course i need my only transportation here to get to work etc asap. 

Thank you for any/all help.

-Wayne.

-Las Vegas NV.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic