Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Datsun 620 Rheostat Alternatives


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 erniestr8mingin

erniestr8mingin

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Virginia Beach, VA
  • Cars:1975 Datsun 620

Posted 26 November 2017 - 09:54 PM

So my dimmer in my '75 620 has been fried due to a ground issue, and I am looking for alternatives. I can't seem to find another. Will another dimmer from another Datsun with a 2-pin dimmer work? If anyone replying to this thread has a spare that would be willing to let go of, that would be great as well.

Thanks!!

#2 MikeRL411

MikeRL411

    78 'n counting...

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,501 posts
  • Location:Rancho Palos Verdes CA
  • Cars:67RL411, 90 240SX, 97J30T

Posted 27 November 2017 - 11:03 AM

I find that once I set the dimmer on a new car I never readjust it.



#3 datzenmike

datzenmike

    KING RAT

  • User Administrator
  • 72,225 posts
  • Location:Vancouver Island
  • Cars:'74 710 sedan, '76 710. prevoius... '78 620, '71 521, '68 510 new '76 B-210

Posted 27 November 2017 - 02:16 PM

All (I think) are three wire.  The same dimmer is used on the '70s cars also. Earlier are rheostats, around mid '70s they changed to a much slimmer solid state that doesn't heat up.


Posted Image

#4 erniestr8mingin

erniestr8mingin

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Virginia Beach, VA
  • Cars:1975 Datsun 620

Posted 27 November 2017 - 06:11 PM

On this ad below for a 75-78 280z has two wires, just want to make sure if this would be compatible to use in my 620, and that this one on eBay isn't a solid state one.

Thanks for the reply datzenmike!

https://rover.ebay.c...tm/112623759094

#5 datzenmike

datzenmike

    KING RAT

  • User Administrator
  • 72,225 posts
  • Location:Vancouver Island
  • Cars:'74 710 sedan, '76 710. prevoius... '78 620, '71 521, '68 510 new '76 B-210

Posted 27 November 2017 - 07:56 PM

Yeah, if only $15 get it.

 

Ahh I see that the 620 used a 2 wire until '78 when it went to a 3 wire solid state. Don't know if the two can be used for the same thing, but I expect so with some wiring. The two wire just add resistance (which will have to dissipate some lost heat) the solid state is more compact and transistorized.
 
Si5RaQY.jpg


Q8w5qp9.jpg t_unread_dot.png
 

3 wires. One is ground. One goes to power. One goes to all lamps on the ground side.The other side of all lamps go to power.


Posted Image

#6 erniestr8mingin

erniestr8mingin

    Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Virginia Beach, VA
  • Cars:1975 Datsun 620

Posted 28 November 2017 - 11:02 AM

Awesome, thanks for the info as always datzenmike