Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Manual choke cable? 71 521


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 d.p

d.p

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 978 posts
  • Location:Mid-Atlantic
  • Cars:1971 521, 2015 M3

Posted 01 November 2017 - 06:09 AM

Anyone gone from that twisted to a single wire?  Mine is frayed and every time I disengage from my weber it frays even more.  Its hard to pull and clicks when I push it back so I figure I might as well replace it.  Wondering what my options are?



#2 datzenmike

datzenmike

    KING RAT

  • User Administrator
  • 69,420 posts
  • Location:Vancouver Island
  • Cars:'74 710 sedan, '76 710. prevoius... '78 620, '71 521, '68 510 new '76 B-210

Posted 01 November 2017 - 06:15 AM

How do you push a stranded wire??? All choke cables I have seen are stiff and solid wire.


Posted Image

#3 G-Duax

G-Duax

    prickly in San Antonio

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Location:San Antonio, The Republic of Texas
  • Cars:73 620 & 90 Toyota Cressida

Posted 01 November 2017 - 06:27 AM

I've used stainless mig wire before to replace choke cables.



#4 banzai510(hainz)

banzai510(hainz)

    L motor God

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,982 posts

Posted 01 November 2017 - 06:28 AM

I use a Cheap O rileys (schucks) pull wire. wire is soilid(inside) the outer casing is coiled. Hopefull you didnt clamp the coil part to the carb holder!!!!!!!!!!DUH!


Throw on some Weber sidedrafts, Rising Sun hood.... call it good

#5 d.p

d.p

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 978 posts
  • Location:Mid-Atlantic
  • Cars:1971 521, 2015 M3

Posted 01 November 2017 - 06:49 AM

I use a Cheap O rileys (schucks) pull wire. wire is soilid(inside) the outer casing is coiled. Hopefull you didnt clamp the coil part to the carb holder!!!!!!!!!!DUH!

 

Easy swap?  And the coiled part goes through the cable lock screw on the choke linkage on the carb and the rubber sheath is clamped to the carb holder? on the back side of the carb towards the firewall.   

 

I read some people use .055" piano wire as a replacement?  

 

37381149084_1c1f742686.jpg



#6 racerx

racerx

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,111 posts
  • Location:NorCal
  • Cars:71 Datsun 510 and 65 Mustang Fastback

Posted 01 November 2017 - 07:26 AM

Maybe it's installed wrong from the beginning. Had mine for 15 years and never frayed.

#7 d.p

d.p

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 978 posts
  • Location:Mid-Atlantic
  • Cars:1971 521, 2015 M3

Posted 01 November 2017 - 07:49 AM

Maybe it's installed wrong from the beginning. Had mine for 15 years and never frayed.

 

How does it install wrong? it feeds through the cable lock and you tighten that to hold in place.  The fucker just frayed both times I took it out and put it back in.  
 

Anyone just pulled the wire out of the sheath and fed the new wire back in through it?  IE without pulling the sheath through the firewall?



#8 banzai510(hainz)

banzai510(hainz)

    L motor God

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,982 posts

Posted 01 November 2017 - 07:52 AM

NO thats correct. I just havent seen a wirewrap choke cable before. Maybe there a spring on the stock carb set up that pulls it back where one doesnt have to push it back in and cause a fray.


Throw on some Weber sidedrafts, Rising Sun hood.... call it good

#9 G-Duax

G-Duax

    prickly in San Antonio

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Location:San Antonio, The Republic of Texas
  • Cars:73 620 & 90 Toyota Cressida

Posted 01 November 2017 - 07:57 AM

.055 music wire is too stiff.

I told you what works for me.

 

And seeing where it's fraying, is a sign that the pivot on the carb is not turning easily. That is what is causing the cable to fray at that point.



#10 d.p

d.p

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 978 posts
  • Location:Mid-Atlantic
  • Cars:1971 521, 2015 M3

Posted 01 November 2017 - 07:58 AM

NO thats correct. I just havent seen a wirewrap choke cable before. Maybe there a spring on the stock carb set up that pulls it back where one doesnt have to push it back in and cause a fray.

 

That's what I am saying, it came with the truck so I assume its OEM.  I need to replace but not sure with what or the easiest way.     

 

G-Daux, what size mig wire?  .055?  And does the choke cable just attach to the back of the knob in the cab? Trying to see if I can just feed a new wire through the sheath instead of replacing it all.  

.055 music wire is too stiff.

I told you what works for me.

 

And seeing where it's fraying, is a sign that the pivot on the carb is not turning easily. That is what is causing the cable to fray at that point.

 


#11 Stoffregen Motorsports

Stoffregen Motorsports

    Datsun Mechanic

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,758 posts
  • Location:Cool, CA
  • Cars:http://www.4wdandsportutility.com/features/rover/0611_4wd_1957_range_rover/viewall.html

Posted 01 November 2017 - 08:15 AM

You could tin the end of the cable (with solder) to make it more solid.

 

I've never really paid attention, but I think it should be a solid wire, not a cable. Otherwise you're relying on that weak spring to pull the choke back open. Makes sense to me.



#12 G-Duax

G-Duax

    prickly in San Antonio

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Location:San Antonio, The Republic of Texas
  • Cars:73 620 & 90 Toyota Cressida

Posted 01 November 2017 - 08:32 AM

I've used .030", as it's still flexible enough to go around bends.



#13 d.p

d.p

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 978 posts
  • Location:Mid-Atlantic
  • Cars:1971 521, 2015 M3

Posted 01 November 2017 - 08:38 AM

I've used .030", as it's still flexible enough to go around bends.

 

Dont have a sauder and would rather just replace it.

 

Can I just feed a new wire through the sheath?  Anyone replaced one before and have any tips?  



#14 docbainey

docbainey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Cars:75 610, RIP 68 510 4dr, 73 610 Hdtp, 71 510 goon, 72 510 4 dr

Posted 01 November 2017 - 09:31 AM

Do what Stoff suggested. Tin about an inch or 2.



#15 Stoffregen Motorsports

Stoffregen Motorsports

    Datsun Mechanic

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,758 posts
  • Location:Cool, CA
  • Cars:http://www.4wdandsportutility.com/features/rover/0611_4wd_1957_range_rover/viewall.html

Posted 01 November 2017 - 10:09 AM

You don't need a soldering iron to tin the cable. You can use a torch.

 

But I would still probably replace it with a solid wire. Unless you have a removable handle on the inside-the-cab portion of the assembly, I don't see how you can just insert a solid wire.  I did, however, find about 100 options for buying a complete cable with handle and housing on Summit's website - https://www.summitra...&kr=choke cableFor $15-$30 you can replace the whole setup.



#16 racerx

racerx

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,111 posts
  • Location:NorCal
  • Cars:71 Datsun 510 and 65 Mustang Fastback

Posted 01 November 2017 - 10:18 AM

Choke cables are widely available at local auto stores.

#17 d.p

d.p

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 978 posts
  • Location:Mid-Atlantic
  • Cars:1971 521, 2015 M3

Posted 01 November 2017 - 10:23 AM

I bought a soldering iron so I can tin it, just not sure there is enough wire to do it.  I assume I would have to cut the frayed part off and tin a clean/straight end?

 

Also not sure if I can re-use the stock knob with those aftermarket cables, anyone know?    



#18 racerx

racerx

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,111 posts
  • Location:NorCal
  • Cars:71 Datsun 510 and 65 Mustang Fastback

Posted 01 November 2017 - 10:32 AM

I would cut it clean and then solder it. Make u have enough play though.Not sure what u mean by using stock knob with aftermarket cables. When you buy one, they come with a knob.

#19 banzai510(hainz)

banzai510(hainz)

    L motor God

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,982 posts

Posted 01 November 2017 - 11:06 AM

they sell cheap pull choke cablesThats waht I did on my 521.  lasted on 2 other 510s ,    Not hard to find.  cut to size if needed

 

soldering a dirty cable isnt going to work with just solder. It has to be real hot. and use MA flux to get that to stick.  regular solder resin isnt going to cut it.


Throw on some Weber sidedrafts, Rising Sun hood.... call it good

#20 d.p

d.p

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 978 posts
  • Location:Mid-Atlantic
  • Cars:1971 521, 2015 M3

Posted 01 November 2017 - 11:55 AM

I would cut it clean and then solder it. Make u have enough play though.Not sure what u mean by using stock knob with aftermarket cables. When you buy one, they come with a knob.

 

Trying to use the stock OEM choke knob so they all match.