92 replies to this topic

#1 1979_datsun_620

1979_datsun_620

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Cars:1979 Datsun 620

Posted 12 September 2017 - 07:07 AM

I've ready several posts but have never seen one of an approved engine swap in the state of California. I recently purchased a 1979 Datsun 620, the L20B engine needs work and I'd rather just do a swap. At first I wanted to swap it with an SR20DET but I've learned that the refs won't approve it. I have now considered dropping the KA24DE into my truck. I guess my question is, has anyone ever gone through the process? And if so which engine is the best to use? I have some $$ that I know I will spending but also would get the labor don't for really cheap. My ideal goal is performance and reliability. Please help! IM A SUPER NEWB!!

#2 ]2eDeYe

]2eDeYe

Bastard!

• User Administrator
  • 17,707 posts
  • Cars:78 620 KC, 77 620 KC, 72 CJ5, 04 G35 coupe mmmm

Posted 12 September 2017 - 09:36 AM

As I understand it you will need to do a complete swap including all emissions equipment and you will end up smogging for whichever year of motor you swap in. There are a few hoops to jump through but it can be done. 

I'm sure some local guys will be along shortly with more info. 

Smokin' Joe's House of Datto's

gJv38AY.jpg
Member- *Japanese Trucking Association*

**DATSUN FAQ** ~ If ya know it, post it ~ If ya don't know it, learn it ~

ratsun.net rising sun stickers                     ratsun business cards order thread

620 KA24 Motor Mount Swap Brackets

1977 620 KingCab Deluxe KA24DE Swap - Refresh and cleanup
1978 620 kingcab 4x4 - KA24E SAS w/Dana 44 front and Toyota rear

1967 RL411 Station Wagon

Whenever I think that I'm out of my mind for putting this much time and money into an old Datsun, all I have to do is look some of your threads to know that I'm not nearly as whack as you are.