V8 swap

Avan

I'm new to this heard it was the place to be if I had a Datsun, I got a 78 Datsun king cab that a guy v8 swap with a a chevy 350cid the cooling on this truck sucks, any ideas on what kind of radiator I can run that will fit the truck, the motor is just a stock 350 nothing special just curious if any one has any ideas ?

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I doubt anyone who currently has a V8 swapped Datsun truck will be able to accurately answer this question. Standards have changed over the past decade and what was acceptable back then won't fly now. What I mean is, you should try to make it better than just ok.

I believe the only ways to get a radiator big enough to cool a V8 in a 620 is to, as Mike said, have a rear mounted radiator, or cut into the radiator support and fit the biggest radiator possible, or to cut into the firewall pushing the motor back far enough to fit the biggest radiator without cutting the radiator support. Either scenario requires a lot of work.

In any case, a good set of electric fans or a good mechanical fan with a proper shroud will help immensely.

Getting the hot air out of the engine bay will help with cooling too. While some may scoff at hood louvers, they do work quite well. Carving up the inner fender wells is another way of getting the hot air out. Or even a cowl induction style hood.