Jump to content


Photo

Piston swap issue


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 COOCHaDAMus

COOCHaDAMus

    Hall Monitor

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Location:Skyway
  • Cars:1980 Datsun 210 Coupe, 2007 Honda Element

Posted 28 August 2017 - 07:22 PM

i replaced pistons & rings in 80' 210 A14 engine to A15 pistons & rings, found that pistons at TDC don't reach top of bore. pics are #1 & #4 at TDC Is this gonna cause any issues.

 

 

 

http://s1203.photobucket.com/user/COOCHaDAMus/media/image1_zpszofotyxt.jpg.html

 

http://s1203.photobucket.com/user/COOCHaDAMus/media/image2_zps1bepzn1c.jpg.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



#2 wayno

wayno

    Datsunahaulic

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,007 posts

Posted 28 August 2017 - 09:07 PM

You need to find another photo hosting service, Photolame isn't going to work anymore.

The Jason Grey info doesn't include A series engines, so you will have to wait for someone that knows A blocks to tell you if it will work or not.


 

 


#3 Cosmonaut

Cosmonaut

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Location:Olympia
  • Cars:1977 F10, 1976 620, 1995 Subaru Impreza, 2015 Hyundai Veloster Turbo

Posted 28 August 2017 - 09:59 PM

That year should be a common block, but the crank is different...the length of throw. I would venture to guess that A15 pistons n rods need to match up with an A15 crank.....I guess

The issue is a significant loss of compression.


Edit:

Info from the net

"A15 runs 30mm pin height where A14 is 32.5 so by using the UC piston the top of the piston would be a fair bit down the bore."

#4 Sierra

Sierra

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 496 posts
  • Location:San Diego, California
  • Cars:B210

Posted 28 August 2017 - 10:24 PM

IMG_0582.jpg


IMG_0583.jpg

#5 wayno

wayno

    Datsunahaulic

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,007 posts

Posted 28 August 2017 - 10:24 PM

If the A15 has a different crank(longer stroke), and the rod is the same, then the wrist pin location would likely be higher in the piston, you would then likely need to use the A15 crank also.

Compression ratio loss could be significant, Dmike might know the answer to this, hopefully he will read this and reply.

What head do you have, open or closed chamber?


 

 


#6 Cosmonaut

Cosmonaut

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Location:Olympia
  • Cars:1977 F10, 1976 620, 1995 Subaru Impreza, 2015 Hyundai Veloster Turbo

Posted 28 August 2017 - 10:49 PM

Wow, that is a serious gap, I would bet you would b down to difficult starting and significant loos of power.

#7 datzenmike

datzenmike

    KING RAT

  • User Administrator
  • 70,344 posts
  • Location:Vancouver Island
  • Cars:'74 710 sedan, '76 710. prevoius... '78 620, '71 521, '68 510 new '76 B-210

Posted 29 August 2017 - 05:31 AM

I would need the combustion chamber and the piston dish volume but yeah that's some serious loss. Flattops would help, but...

 

A14 stroke is 77mm and A15 is 82. This is 5mm and 1/2 that is 2.5mm. Would not the longer A14 rods fix this?


Posted Image

#8 datzenmike

datzenmike

    KING RAT

  • User Administrator
  • 70,344 posts
  • Location:Vancouver Island
  • Cars:'74 710 sedan, '76 710. prevoius... '78 620, '71 521, '68 510 new '76 B-210

Posted 29 August 2017 - 06:27 AM

Thought about this on way to work. If A15 pin height is 30 and A14 is 32.5 then they both use the same rod length???


Posted Image

#9 G-Duax

G-Duax

    prickly in San Antonio

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 881 posts
  • Location:San Antonio, The Republic of Texas
  • Cars:73 620 & 90 Toyota Cressida

Posted 29 August 2017 - 12:40 PM

Either buy the correct pistons, or an A15 crank.



#10 angelmanuel

angelmanuel

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Location:mississippi
  • Cars:06 Ford Focus, 16 Ford Focus RS

Posted 01 September 2017 - 04:17 PM

i think the combination is A15 crank with A14 pistons/rods. Also, use the A15 oil pan