I want bigger valves for this setup, right?

sneax

hey 

after my first topic here was answered fast and satisfying... I shoot my 2. question right away!  :P 

for a rally race L20B engine - I want to put big valvein it, right? at least I got thiimpression, reading through the ratsun forum!

I have no experience with building L enginewhat so ever. And the first reaction of my machine shop here in Mexico City was: "42mm intake valves? ...that should be big enough!" 
I am a
ssuming they don't have a ton of experience with Datun L engines either! 
I am looking more for torque than high rev
...but 150 / 160 hp at the wheels would be great!

I could use the 1000++ dollar for bigger valves very good on other partfor the racecar... but if that's what it takes to get sufficient power out off my engine.... I will spent them! 

280z valves with 44mm\35mm in good quality?
or can\
should I go 1mm bigger to 45mm\36mm ???
(price i
s the same for the 8 valves and for the job a well!!)

Ferrea Competition Plus or any other recommendations?

specs:
L20B in an 1960 MGA for La Carrera Panamericana.
W53 peanut head
forged h beam rod
s
forged flat top pi
stons
2x 45 weber
maybe 270 or 280 cam
shaft for rally use.

thanks guys :D 

• Replies 136
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

What size valves are in the W53 head? Don't forget that larger valves will need the intake ports opened up to make use of them. Strength is built into the block, HP is made by the head... cam, valves, porting and polishing. More air flowing through the head, the more power made. Lots of things can be done to the head to improve the flow. 

The stock rods and pistons are good enough to 7K. Maybe add some ARP rod bolts. Keep it simple.

To realize 150 hp you will need to really rev a 2 liter engine. I would shoot for 115/120.

• Like 1

I dont have the head here yet ... it is this one if that helps ?
was advertised reasonly on the ratsun FB page!