Beavers 720 build (camping truck).

New here been lurking on these forums for a while. I have wanted a 720 for a long time and I finally picked one up last month. 86 short bed 4x4. I am a very amateur mechanic and this truck for me about diy and learning a bit more about working on cars. Every one here seems really knowledgeable and friendly compared to a lot of forums so here I am. HI

First it shows z24s motor and has the vacuum distributor so I guess this is a carb truck and not TBI?

Problem: Starts up okay, choke seems to be working. It will idle fast but when coke opens or when I kick it down with the throttle truck starts sputtering and dies. I can keep it going with peddle. I realize this is a pretty common topic and its been talked about a bunch so sorry for asking dumb questions. 

First thing I did was cap all the emission lines off except the line to the distributor. That didn't change anything. 

I discovered that there is a linkage on the carb that is broken from the diaphragm on the drivers side to the side of the choke. I'm guessing this has something to do with controlling the idle? Could this be the whole problem? Or should I be looking at other things?

I am planning to swap out the stock crab for an aftermarket Weber at some point but it would be nice to get it running properly before that. 

Reading here I was thinking this could also be a timing issue with both sides of plugs not firing. Saw a thread suggesting to take off a wire from the distributor assembly.. there is one by it self would that be the one? 

Any suggestions would be appreciated. 

I cant really contribute too much to the mechanic talk here but I work in the drone industry and build 3d printers for fun so if you guys got questions about that stuff shoot haha. 

Thanks

• Like 1
  • Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Two wing nuts holding the air filter on.... TBI

One wing nut .... carb.