84 Datsun 720 Gauge Hackery.

Greetings Rat-Monkies!

First of all, thanks to everyone for your previous posts, they have been very helpful.

I recently purchased an 84 Datsun 720 King Cab in need of some TLC.

One (of the many) things that needs attention is the Panel Gauge Cluster.

The fuel gauge, water temperature, and tachometer were not functioning properly.

I do remember that the gas gauge was working when I picked it up.

I have been lurking the forum for the last few weeks trying to sort this out and made a little progress tonight.

I had little success finding an auto electrician who would touch it and since I do electronics for a living, this was personal.

So I tried every little test, fuse, relay and connection I could find before yanking the cluster module out to test it.

I hooked up a DC power supply to the Fuel and Temperature gauges to see if they worked, and they both worked fine.

In another post around here I was reading datzenmike saying the voltage regulator keep them at 8V but they worked with 12.

It does seem like the internal voltage regulator is busted, and though this seems to be more a matter of calibration/consistency than function, I will put a small replacement together tomorrow and post my findings.

Here is a link to the pic of my disassembled fuel level gauge, responding to the DC power supply. I cant seem to get the Ratsun forum to show it, sorry.

https://goo.gl/photos/R2qqggYTkdK3ux9V7

Other associated pics:

https://goo.gl/photos/atPymVYiPeUWstfG9

I cleaned/reseated all of the connections on the plastic flexy circuit board and put it back into the dash (I need it to drive to work tomorrow), only to find that the fuel gauge was now working! Hopefully it just had a loose connection in the dash and wont turn up again. I also have yet to see if the Temp gauge works.