72 510 with 82 280zx transmission

Hey, I need to put a 82 280zx 5 speed into a 72 510. What parts of this swap are interchangeable (clutch, pressure plate etc..)I know I'll have to shorten the drive shaft,& punch a new hole for the shifter. And what will I have to do to the transmission mount? Thanks for any help.

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

There are a couple options, I chose to go with the T3 crossmember and use a 280z mount. clutch should be fit for to the flywheel.. 200 or 225mm.. throw out bearing matches the pressure plate.

• Like 1

I'm kinda new to this, will I need to reposition the 510 crossmember any to use it? Oh, & will the 510 hydrologics work with the Zx trans ok? Something else just came to mind, is there any advice about shortening the drive shaft, like does the front of the 510 drive shaft fit into the Zx trans ok? Thanks

Well, if you have a wagon just use the sedan driveshaft. If a sedan shorten the driveshaft 5.5" or to 37 3/8".

The clutch does not care what the transmission is and the transmission does not care what clutch is used. They are totally separate. BUT... the clutch release bearing collar IS part of the clutch assembly and must remain with the clutch you have, even though it is mounted on the clutch arm in the transmission. Keep your old collar it is matched to the pressure plate.... but replace the used bearing. This thing...

IMG_7266.jpg

The 710 I have came with the same 26" F4W63 transmission as is in the earlier 510. I put a zx transmission in and the shifter fit the hole without cutting. By carefully unclipping the speedometer cable and pulling it out into the engine compartment I was able to feed it down the back of the engine and over the top of the transmission to the far side and even though the transmission is longer, it still fit and works in the new location.