EBay info/advice needed

Dear fellow Datsun owners,

EBay info/advice needed regarding buying and selling a car.

In order to afford completing the restoration of my 1973 610 wagon, I will be selling my other car (the car is a 1978 Fiat 124, not a Datsun). I have no experience or knowledge about selling a car on EBay.

What should I know about selling a car on EBay?

-Is selling on auction with a reserve the best way to sell?

-What should I put into my listing?

-What are the most important things I must make sure I do to safe guard myself?

- What do buyers look for when they look through EBay Motors ads? Of course price, but what other factors are important? What are the major concerns of buyers and how do I address them?

ANY advice you can give me would be helpful. Thank you to all who are able to reply to this.

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

eBay will take quite a chunk of change, as will Paypal, if you plan on accepting it.

And the trouble with selling on eBay in auction form, is if there are 10 people wanting to bid on your car, and they all wait for the last minute to bid, thinking they will get it cheap, there is no auto extension for the others to raise the price, like there would be in a real auction format, like what Yahoo-Japan, or Gun Broker auctions.

So by all means, have a reserve, or just use the fixed price, Buy-it-Now format, maybe with the Make an Offer option.

Keep in mind, not everyone goes to eBay daily, weekly, or even monthly, so it may take a little time to find that one person that wants your item bad enough to pay what it's worth.

I have made a lot of money just scarfing up items that were poorly listed, and then re-selling them.

1st,