70' 510 Won't Start - L20 w/ twin Weber 40 DCOE carbs.

sBay510

Hi Guys,

Long story short, I have a 71’ 510 with a L20 w/ twin Weber 40 DCOE carbs. I didn’t have the opportunity to get it in and start it up for about a year. I did have a battery tender on the battery to keep it alive. Now that I have the chance to hop in the car, I can’t get it to start. It will turn over, but not start.

I have tried to use starting fluid and it roars to life, but then just dies out. The starter is running/turning so I do not think that’s the problem. The last time I had the engine running, I purposely used most of the fuel in the tank. I put in a fresh half tank load of fuel in it recently before trying to start it.

The car has an electric fuel pump in the trunk next to the fuel cell. It turns on when the key is put into ACC. I can hear it buzzing and working. I’m fairly new to working on carburetor engines, so I have been doing a lot of reading on this forum and online in general. I have tried leaving the pump on for about 2-3 min to fill up the fuel bowls in the carbs. Both fuel lines for each carburetor have a in-line fuel pressure gauges (under the hood – pretty close to the carbs) and are reading at approx. 3 – 3.5 psi after the bowls are full. I have taken off the fuel lines, put the open end into a bottle and turn the ignition on to ensure fuel is actually getting pumped to the carb..which it is. So I do not think fuel delivery to the carb is the issue either. I have pumped the gas pedal anywhere from 3-6 time before trying to crank the engine – as I have read to do so – but still will not start.