It's Time to Get Schwifty (280ZX+L67=380ZX)

Greetings, newbie here. Wanted to share what I'm doing with my 280Z 2+2.

About a year ago I picked this thing up on a whim. Never got the L28 to run and gave up before I made any real investment in it, because my buddy was wanting to unload a Buick/Pontiac L67 (3.8l supercharged V6) -- which he had planned to put in a Fiero, but lost interest/funding/motivation/whatever. Anyway, I thought it would be a cool project to put it in my Z, so that's what I'm doing. Transmission is a Dodge AX15 out of a 4cyl Dakota. Incidentally Dodge borrowed the Iron Duke from GM to use in the Dakotas and Wranglers, so the bellhousing pattern is already a direct match for the GM V6. The box itself is also the same architecture as the Toyota 154, so if the AX15 turns out to not be up to the task, I can swap in a Supra or Taco box with minimal modification.

I already built a custom wiring harness for the engine to run the stock PCM standalone. Fired right up without any major hiccups, which was nice. Right now I'm taking care of rust and doing some structural bracing before I drop in the L67. I've heard horror stories of doors not shutting after throwing power at stock frames, so I'm making custom subframe connectors, new floor pans (mine were 100% Flintstone'd when I got it), rocker to strut tower braces and triangulated tower to tower supports. Hopefully that will do the trick. Here's some preliminary pics. Forgive me if they don't work right the first time -- I've never been big on posting to forums.

Any questions or criticisms are welcome.

Cheers,

Ian

P.S. Any other Datsun guys or gals near Raleigh?

• Like 1
  • Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Pics are on the way shortly. Posting from my phone atm, and Photobucket seems determined to give it some sort of virus. Going to try again from my work computer in a minute. I'm an adult, I swear.

And yeah, rust is the devil.