Hundred buck truck! 1979 620 kc

Dick222

Good evening ,I'm brand new to ratsun!

I'm 40 and owned a 620 when i was in high school. Iv been thinking about getting one again but had to have a kc this time.

Long story short, my buddy calls me 2 days ago and asks me if I'm still looking for a 620? I am moving in 2 weeks and have alot going on so i said probably not right now.

He then says would if you could get it for $100?

So here i am the proud owner of a 1979 kc.

Pros:new tires. Rear slider window. All glass in great shape. Tailgate skin. Grill emblem. Headliner intact. Weber carb. Everything works! Runs,drives, stops, title,current tabs. Drove it home!

Cons: ROUGH BODY! Seats are shot. GIANT hole in the floor! Dash is cracked all over. Glove box broken at seam. Spray painted exterior. Missing 1 hub cap. Sun roof.

So my plan is to keep cleaning, tinker with the brakes a Lil. Can't decide between 3" or 4" blocks and index torsions. 2 new fenders. Possibly a new bed but i think i kinda like the patina of the original. Ambers.new seats. Definitely looking to do it my way.

Iv been trolling here for months and iv seen how this goes. I'm hoping that i will post pics and a treasure trove of info will pour in by all the ratsun geniuses gladly helping a newcomer. I'm a remodeler by trade but no mechanic by any means. This truck is basic enough for me to work on with just a little guidance. Thanx in and for any info you might have to help a guy along.

• Like 2
  • Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to Ratsun Richard or do you prefer Dick? :lol:  You've come to the right place for help. Now your next job is posting some pictures of your '79. We know the the '79 was the only year the radio antenna was on the drivers side so you can't fool us.

• Like 1