510 T/C rod kit install?

fisch

I have this here nifty old school T/C rod kit. But being an artist I need visuals and there are no oics in the directions. Do I have this right? Do I need a second big washer between the rubber grommet and the body mount? is that big black washer facing the right direction? Also there are usually two rubber grommets with a metal tube spacer that goes  inside them. Do I need a cut down version of that spacer still? (Cut because I am only running 1 now.)

IMG_5218_1.jpg

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Take a look at carterb's 1969 4 door thread. He just posted his install of this kit I think.

Hot damn you are right, but it was his coupe thread. That is perfect. He didn't show the back side of the assembly, but it looks like it is whatever the stock set-up on the other side of the body mount. Shouldn't be hard to figure out.

FOr anyone who stumbles here in the future:

http://community.ratsun.net/topic/44192-cooper-1969-1600sss-bluebird-coupe/page-7

• Like 2

A plus with that old TC kit, is that you have the TC boot, which are not in the new kits. Keeps dirt, water, etc out of the joint.

True! When i saw the metal sleeve that goes inside the old rubber bushings, the sleeve was rusty and pitted from being exposed.

G-Machine!!!!! w00t  better keep some delrin replacements on hand, they break apart after a while.....also, make sure you properly radius the shoulder on the actual rod where the rearward washer stops....if you are adding more caster.  square shoulder = fail.

G-Machine!!!!! w00t  better keep some delrin replacements on hand, they break apart after a while.....also, make sure you properly radius the shoulder on the actual rod where the rearward washer stops....if you are adding more caster.  square shoulder = fail.