72 1200 Bucket Build in Texas

Coda

Hello fellow Datsun nuts,

I'm new to the site and thought I'd introduce myself and my project in the same post.

My name is Rick. I'm a writer and Gearhead from Dallas, TX. This particular 1200 has been sitting in the same spot, in my cousin's Denton, TX salvage yard, since 1986. After repeated attempts to get him to sell it to me, I was able to liberate it two weekends ago.

Plans are to do the rust repair (tons of it) and install a CA18ET pulled from the same yard. I just ordered the 1200 brake upgrade brackets from Doug (this was my first par- purchase for this project; glad to buy from a Datsun guy...very cool cat). My RockAuto cart is full of the suspension bits and brake parts to make it all work.

As soon as the parts get here, I'll be cutting my struts down with Jetta inserts and flipping sides, possibly flipping the tie rod ends to the top to help correct some of the geometry offset with the 3 inch lowering job... Here's what I have so far.

Got it home:

12801639_1107081726011105_76847348155268

Interior stripped on day 1 Floors and both frame rails need replacing: 

12801259_1107133652672579_45284726625039

Day 2 - got her inside and motor and front suspension bits removed:

12800162_1107592252626719_10348586334860

Measuring for 3 inch blocks with 200SX 15X6 wheels:

12790960_1109421275777150_87302147556105

I'm sure I'll be asking a ton of questions on the tech side of the forums. The hunt for quarter panel patches will begin soon. I can build floor pans and frame rails and I know I can order front fenders from OZ, but no clue on the rear quarters...but I'll do some searching before I start asking silly questions.

I am sure glad  this site is here! I'll update this post as often as I make progress.

Thanks for looking

• Like 5
  • Replies 146
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic