610 goon U-bolts

MapleNuts

I'm trying to lower my wagon but i've been pulling my hair out trying to find a definitive answer on the proper inside diameter of the u-bolts i should get, and well as what thread size.

It seems to me i have a h190 axle and the inside diameter of the u bolts on the car are 2.625 (2 5/8). 

But i cant find any u bolts with that diameter anywhere

Anyone know what U-bolts i actually need to run 2.5"-3" lowering blocks.

seems like everyone else lowering isn't having any problems with this, i'm just a poor noob.

Thanks!

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You should put the year of your 610 in your profile.

I'm guessing you have a '73 (manual/automatic) or a '74 automatic. These years used an H-165B rear axle and the tube will be smaller diameter than the H-190. I just looked at my 710 (which were all H-165B) and yeah 2.5" roughly... could be 2.6" for sure.

On my wagon I got a set of 2" lowering blocks for an H-190 at Canby one year.  All I did was give them a few smacks with a small sledge to squeeze them in slightly and as long as the threaded end fits through the shock mount plate it fits just fine. Been on and driving them for years now. I would guess 3" diameter U bolt pinched in 1/8" each side will work dandy.

Thread size is irrelevant.... anything that will thread on and tighten up is fine.

My friend's 510 wagon, with a H190, uses the exact same U-bolts as my 710 coupe, with a H165 .. they are 2.5" inner diameter. But my 710 wagon has this sleeve under the U-bolts, so the 710 wagon U-bolts have a slightly larger inner diameter. You need custom U-bolts if you want to use this sleeve:

15747796413_2c1c61837b_c.jpg

Bending 3" axle U-bolts does not look safe at all .. I'd rather run 2.5" NAPA U-bolts without the sleeve (or get custom ones made)

16181889777_a369a1189a_c.jpg

• Like 1

710rearsuspension010Large.jpg