Engine cams

Scgreen620

The title says it all ... I've looked online I can't really find what I'm looking for ... Ssoooooo I must ask you guys .. Here's the deal I have an 78 620 with l20 b I'm finally going to rebuild ..it has a cannon intake manifold with a 32/36 and a aftermarket header (don't know the name) I want to upgrade my cam I don't know what I should go with I just want more power but I want to daily it ... actually it is my daily .. Any help would be apriciated ..

I did see that mike posted that the newer Nissan motor cams might work and might be cheaper but I would like to know what the difference would be ...

Please guys keep it positive :) thanks

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I am not a cam expert.

I have talked to my machinist about this subject after installing an RV cam in my L20b, for the best all around driving you want a stock L20b cam.

I had less power with that RV cam, but I didn't have the head to take advantage of the cam either, but even if I had had the proper head setup on it which I have, it still would not worked for my truck, as I need torque.

It's a balancing act, you need the proper head which includes valves, valve springs, lash pads with the proper porting, and the cam, then you need the proper intake with the porting needed, and carb/carbs and jetting, you need the proper exhaust made for everything before it, and all this costs lots of money, if you don't do it all, then it's a waste of money as it will not work properly.