New to Forum - 1986 720 Regular Cab

Seaway

New guy here.  Just picked up a 1986 720 with about 161,000 on the clock this weekend and I once I get into it, I am going to have a bunch of questions.  I have never worked on a Japanese vehicle before and never owned a car/truck with a carburetor.  I had a couple old Mercedes diesels, an old Mercedes 190e that I completely rebuilt, and I currently own a 1998 315hp Volvo wagon that I have modded a bunch, including an engine swap, suspension, tune, etc.  So while I don't know anything about these trucks, I know I can learn. I traded an old Volvo I got for $250 for the truck and then drove it about 90 miles to get home, all of it on the highway.  The truck is lowered and sits on 14" wheels with 205/75 -14 tires, so lots of sidewall.  It actually rides pretty well, and I like the height, though I may have to raise it back up if it makes hauling stuff problematic. The problems I have noticed so far are the following:

- The steering (manual, no power steering) has a pretty large dead spot in the center.  

- It idles at what seems to me to be really high at between 1200 -1300 rpms, but other than that, the engine seems pretty good.  Smooth and more power than I was expecting.

- There is a small leak/ooze from the drivers side of the valve cover gasket, but the oil level stayed the same on the ride home, so I am not that concerned.

- Every vacuum hose needs to be changed out - or should I delete all the emissions stuff?

- Headlights are extremely dim, I had a flashlight with me that cast more light.

- I am sure there will be a lot more once I get a chance to get further into it.

There are some minor electrical issues, wiring issues and rattles and clunks, but overall I am really happy with the truck.  Hopefully once I can get it to idle I can start to tackle a few of the other issues and get it up and running.

DvgdE4Fl.jpg

ioTVVkol.jpg

GiwolaLl.jpg

• Like 1
  • Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply