85 720 z24 no power?!?!

Ermugah

First off, i have much love for this truck. However i am not a mechanic an i do not know what most of alot of you do. So the advice an any information will be absolutely helpful to me.. Id love to learn an of course fix this issue

1985 nissan 720 z24 225k

The problem: Has no power. Bad idle. Some oil in the air filter. On a straight highway the max speed i can do is 70-75 mph. On a incline, even if i were to down shift, it just want hold a steady speed. Has a rough idle (carb related from the sounds) an sometimes it will i guess choke out an cut off. At a stop sign (after awhile of driving) ill have to keep in the gast. Some of that may be in the carb but does it explain such lack in power? It really feels like a surge, the throttle reaponse is there, but the sound of it an power is just not the same. Ive had all cylinders checked.. All are nearly the same compression. Spark plugs are fresh. Plug wires are good with good connection to the distributor. ( i did have a cracked distributor, but even before then the problem was still occuring) everything is stock except glasspack exhaust an k&n air filter. Nearly 15000 to 20000 miles ago the timing chain an head gasket were done.

I will have to put more detail when i can.. But if anyone can help, i would very much appreciate it. Thx

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to Ratsun.

What compression? If 80 across all four that would be a problem right there.

Things you can do, is check the valve lash, timing. Confirm that both coils are firing.

Does the air filter have one or two wing nuts holding it on?

• Like 1

@datzenmike: thank you for the welcoming

The compression from what my guy said.. All cylinders are 90 or over. Tho it doesnt run that way. Also the truck doesn't smoke or burn excessive oil

I assume your talking about those 2 main resistors. they both are firing properly.