'78 B210 Strut Cutting and Lowering Questions:

5280Datsun

I would like to go low as possible.

Noob here and dont wanna mess something up and have learn a hard lesson, lots of work in 90's Nissan's but none on these old Dats.

I have been reading a lot on here and plan to lower the front like so:

Some MK1 golf inserts, coil over sleeves (or cut coils) and have some shaft collars on order as well. 

Is there any more details on cutting the strut tubes to stop it from bottoming out? 

The whole re-install of the strut insert and cutting the strut makes me nervous as I can't find "explain it to a 5 year old" example. Just a few cut the top with the threads, section it and weld it back on...

I found this example, but it appears that he "rebuilt or reused" the strut?

http://community.ratsun.net/topic/17682-my-island-74-710/?p=705884

Found this about the different inserts too:

http://community.ratsun.net/topic/39512-strut-insert-and-rear-shock-guide/

As for the rear I plan on a new shock setup and flatten the leaf as the spring shop down the road.

Also anyone know if the roll center correction kits are worth a damn or if the 510 kits work?

BELOW IS THE THE RIGHT WAY.

http://forums.nicoclub.com/strut-sectioning-101-t237090.html

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The overall length of the zx strut tube is 410mm or 16 1/8". Measure your B-210 strut and the difference is how much drop you will get. On top of this you can safely lower another inch and a half if you increase the spring rate to reduce the chance of bottoming the strut. Stiffer the better.

Bolt 280zx struts on.

Instantly lower. Better brakes.

Not really an option at this point, although that is the goal, the household finance manager has limited funds for project #2.