In need of an A10 510 carburetor replacement advice

Hey all, I need some advice. I have a 1981 Datsun HL510. It started acting up a few weeks ago, so I parked it for a while and finally got it to a mechanic last week. The mechanic told me that it needs a new carburetor and gave me an estimate of $780 ($660 for the carb., $120 labor) to replace it. Long story short, I'm a college student and I don't have that kind of money right now. Anyways, I spoke to the mechanic and he agreed to let me try to find a carburetor that was less expensive. I've done a lot of searching and I believe I have a few options. However, I know very little about engines/car parts, so I'm not sure if what I've found will actually work for my car or not. Below I have posted the links to two of my best options at the moment. I would greatly appreciate if someone would take a look at these two carbs. and tell me if they would work for my car/if they require additional parts. Also, the prices of these carburetors vary greatly from the price of the carberator my mechanic was going to purchase from his supplier, is the price direcly correlated with the quality, or will these carburetors do the trick?

1. This is my most promising prospect. I called NationalCarburetor on Friday to check if it was in stock, but they could not tell me because their import guys had already left for the weekend. If this carb is in stock (unlikely, I know), would it require any additional parts?

http://www.nationalcarburetors.com/lookup.aspx?partnum=DAT518

2. This is also a promising prospect, however, I am a little bit skeptical be

cause it is not car specific and I've never used EBay for car parts. Also, it does not look like a complete to me. Is this a complete carburetor?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-CARBURETOR-FITS-NISSAN-200SX-510-720-2-0L-Z20S-1979-1984-FREE-SHIPPING-/121602722904?hash=item1c50164c58:g:kB4AAOSw34FVDyV9&vxp=mtr

Thanks in advance,  Isaac

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply