L24E/810 Questions

tloh

Hello, I recently aquired a 810 50th ann with 145 original miles on the clock.  The plan is to pull the motor and completely go through it.  I am kinda new to the whole 810 side of things, but have always been a fan and thought the car was way ahead of its time lux wise.

I have already contacted mazworx about making some headstuds, but still have a few questions they couldn't answer... well alot, but yea.  I have tried to search, but i either just find a thread where all the answers are "go search" "use search button" or one guy says one thing and the next post the other guy says completely diff....

Here's is some of the info I am looking for...

1. p90 drops the compression super low (mid 7s from what i heard) but how is the valve/piston clearance?  does it change any?

2. MLG/MHG type headgaskets for the p90 head on a l24e or one for the l24e with the 810 head(can't remember casting#)

3. I heard bearing sizes were diff in the 810 l24es vs other platforms, is this true or hear say?  If so, does anyone besides nissan make any? prefer ones more lead based. 

4. I understand the l24e has a forged crank, but with the differences with the 810 does this still hold true? 

5. Rods forged in the 810 version of the l24e? 

Where is a good shop to buy parts from for l engines?

What dealerships (coutesynissan doesnt) can you order all oem parts from or are they for the most part discontinued? interior trim, clutch pedal, etc.

Thanks in advance for the help and responses.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

A 50th anniversary 810???? The first 810 was the '78 and last was '80 before becoming the Maxima. Nissan has only been in North America since '58 so the first 50th anniversary would be in 2008 and I don't believe any model car from the '50s is being made in the 2000s.

With that few miles on it why are you taking it apart??? Have you started and run it? Is anything wrong with it??