Need some guidance on goon brake options.

Eric Happy Meal

So i have a goon that has just been sitting and now i am finally itching to start working on it, but i am at a loss as to what i should be doing with brakes.  there seems to be a lot of conflicting opinions on what should be done.  it would seem like the best option is 200sx rear discs, but what about the fronts?  it seems like the coupe/sedan guys go with 280zx all around, but what about the goonies?  200sx rear+280zx fronts?  Is getting a vacuum booster a preferred method as well?  i see a few write ups on people doing it, but it also doesnt seem to be very common from what i can tell (im new to the datsun scene)

Basically my goal for the car is to just be my DD, with a focus on MPG and safety, hence the brakes.  car has an L16 which is running well enough for me to not bother with, but if it goes out soon i am figuring an L18 swap, if it goes out much later, all bets are off.

So knowing this, what would you guys suggest?  or just say F-it and roll with the stock 1" square pads in the front?  its a 72 4spd FWIW.

side note: what do the guys with E30 seats use for seat belts?  the ones in the car dont fit the receptacle  (not sure if the belts are stock, and i dont have the stock female parts either)

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I would also say put new pads and soft lines if needed.  Drive it, and enjoy it while you evaluate other items on the car if it has been sitting for a long time.  A booster won't make it stop any better.  It will only make the pedal easier to push. 

The stock brakes should be just fine with the stock drivetrain, IMHO.  Just get 'em working as designed.