Transmission won't mate

DatsSully

So I've been struggling for a couple days now trying to get this trans in but it just doesn't want to. I thought it might be the pilot bushing so I sanded that down a little as well as the end input shaft a little bit, it helped a little but it's still about half an inch from the engine. I used an alignment tool to do the clutch and I know the splines are together because I can turn the engine and the shaft moves with it and I had it at about the same angle as the engine(I have the front hoisted up and I used 2 floor jacks to angle the trans). I really don't feel like taking it out a 5th time and grinding more because it might not even be the issue but I can't tell what is. Pics

14405420608061208141635_zpsbawbr2db.jpg

1440542121748-1487705675_zpspvkhd41p.jpg

14405419838921971686309_zpsexsonwwg.jpg

Anyone have any guesses? This is my first time doing this and I've been doing it by myself so it's pretty fun to say the least.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Did you replace the pilot bushing? I recommend you do this any time a clutch is changed, they are after all, only $3 or so. You were there last... did you look into the pilot bushing? Could there be something in there? I've broken a new one from jamming the nose of the spline into one, they are quite soft.

There are two hollow alignment dowels on the engine that the transmission must 'align' with for it to slip in the last 1/2". Could the mating hole(s) on the transmission be blocked? Or the dowel(s) damaged?

I replaced the bushing and cleaned out the hole so I don't think anything is blocking it there besides maybe the bushing itself. There's one hollow dowel and a solid one but it hasn't reached them yet.