carb swap?

Napkin4aroof

Hey there!  not sure if this is a dumb question or not but.... I just purchased a 83 720.  she will no longer idle, turns out the electric choke is dead.  cannot seem to find the electric choke part on the internet or in town (junk yards included).  So i am looking at replacing the carb.  is this a hard thing to swap out?  should i just try to rebuild the carb instead?

backround info, I am not a mechanic.  very little to no experience working on cars.  can do the oil and swap a fuel filter but thats the extent ha.  thanks for the help!

• Like 1
  • Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

There are no dumb questions. Well I suppose there are just a few but generally it's dumber not to ask.

It's far far easier to fix the choke than look for and install another carb. A carb that may simply be someone else's piece of junk, worn out, or rebuilt and missing pieces. At the very least you could install a manual choke cable and turn it on and off from inside the cab.

Lets see...

Electric chokes are not powered directly from the fuse box. Power has to come from a special choke relay that needs a good charging system to energize the coil and keep the contacts touching. This set up thus, only allows the choke to warm up, IF the engine is running. Usually on the 720 when the alternator is charging poorly or not at all, the relay (located up under the dash on the pass side kick panel) will make a light buzzing sound. If you have a poor charging system, maybe the red charge light flickers or comes on dimly then this is the problem. The alternator. I'm not suggesting that you run out and replace your alternator, only that it could be the problem.