backward flow on oil pump?

vagrant

love this site and all the great info that can be found on it...too bad I cant find what I need... sooooo, on to a question....

I don't know if this is what it seems to be or if something has gone horribly wrong somewhere....

79' 510 wagon

everything was working great one day... had to replace oil pump and now it seems to pump backwards...

have looked for this issue everywhere and can find nothing on it.

some people have told me its a special order pump, while others have no idea about ANY other pumps for this motor.

every time we try to prime the pump it draws the oil out of the filter.

has anyone else ran across this issue?

many have told me there's only the stock and high flow pumps for these motors and iv tried both with same results it seems.

please help as the poor little car has been sitting for 8 years now

ps im just a tech,  1/2 mechanic, 1/2 friend of car owner :geek:

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Why was the oil pump replaced???? It's an oil pump and well lubricated. It can get old and a bit tired but never break or seize.

Next... where did you get the replacement pump? Millions were made for the L4 and L 6 cylinder and all the Z20/22/24 and even all KA series truck pumps will fit and work on your A10.

The stock pumps can't possibly turn backwards and as I don't know what you put on there I can't comment.

Be sure the oil level is topped up. Remove the spark plugs so the engine turns faster. Remove the oil pump and fill it with oil and install it back. Now crank it over with the valve cover off. IF the oil starts pumping it will begin leaking out of the cam towers and the cam.

Pictures say a lot ...

http://community.ratsun.net/topic/54932-photobucket-ratsun/

http://community.ratsun.net/topic/691-how-to-post-pictures-and-keep-online-photo-albums/

• Like 1