Datsun b210 engine swap ideas

Pr0t0lyfe

Hey guys I'm new to Datsun crowd and I'm looking for fun engine swap ideas for my 1979 b210

It's got an A15 in it now with auto trans

what's a good engine trans combo people usually run in these cars

I was thinking an I6 from a 240 would be cool but would it fit?

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

An L6 would be way too long to fit without really cutting into the firewall. It could be done, but there are much easier swaps. This site should give you an overview:

http://datsun1200.com/modules/mediawiki/index.php?title=Category:Engine_Modifications

An L18 or L20 will be easy to find and probably cheapest. A KA would be a considerable step up from an L but still relatively affordable. I didn't read through all the swap pages, but I suspect some fabrication skills are needed for modifying cross-members or motor mounts.

Len

• Like 1

You could but it's a lot of work/money. For 150 hp just swap a KA engine and transmission in. It's a lot of work and money but it makes 150 all day before any mods. It's EFI so easy starts, good power and mileage. Done.

I would build an LZ hybrid engine 2.2 or 2.3 and stay with carbs. But that's me.

The KA would give the most bang for the buck in the long run. Although there is more fab work to get it in vs an L, that effort will more than pay for itself. Honestly, it's not that hard to coaxing 150hp out of an L20 but pushing it will sacrifice longevity. Like Mike said, a KA24DE will easily make that kind of hp with gobs of torque to boot. 

You'll need to upgrading the 210's chassis to handle that kind of power. Don't make the mistake of thinking you can just drop in a bigger motor and go taring up the street. Do your homework for the whole build.

Best of luck

http://datsun1200.com/modules/mediawiki/index.php?title=KA_Engine_Swap