New to Datsun and need help

mjp1531

Hey guys. I recently purchased a 72 Datsun 1600 521. There are definitely some wiring issues that I'll need help with.

The kid who had the truck said the headlights didn't work, nor did some of the other lights, so he tried his hand at fixing it. I haven't narrowed down what lights work or not yet, because one look under the bed showed that I need to tidy up his crappy work.

Firstly, the wiring coming from the taillights is spliced and hacked... Mostly exposed twisted wire ends. Does anyone have any pictures of their wiring from each side in the rear? I found a diagram but honestly it's confusing as hell, and I'd like to see the colors lol. I'm not an expert at wiring but I'd like to think I'm not too dumb to learn.

Also, the spark plug wires weren't connected. Can someone point me in the right direction of getting then plugged into the distributor cap in the right order?

I know I'll have many more questions, but I figured I'd start there first.

This truck needs some work but it looks to be like something my teenage son and I can learn on. I look forward to the work :)

• Like 1
  • Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You should try to find a manual as soon as you can. You'll need it. There are many different ones. Some are for 510/521 and some are for trucks.

Firing order is 1342

I'll try to get a pic under mine when I get home tonight and post it. I drove my 510 to work today or I'd do it now.

I saw a color wiring diagram and I'm pretty sure it was on ratsun. Try searching; you might find it.

Good luck.

• Like 1

I'm pretty ignorant on 521s, but here are some links that may help:

http://www.davidcmurphy.com/olddat/620tech2.htmThis site is aimed at 620s, but I suspect some of the info applies to 521s.

http://datsun510.com./manuals/index.htmlHas 521 Factory Service Manual.