New

Lazy620

Hi my name is carlos and I recently bought a 521 I wanted to 620 but ended up with 521 because I think I got it for a good price but I am new to this car don't now much about it but they look Kool I know I will be running int o a lot of problems but I hope I can get the answer from someone here and yes I am a little disappointed that the previous owner put a sunroof on it haven't decided to keep it or take it out

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Not bad, and with a 521, you do not need to make it pass emissions every two years.

Does it start, run and stop?  Are the floors not rusted out?  

You need to adjust the brakes every oil change.  You need to adjust the valves every other oil change.

The engine in a stock L-16 521 turns about 4,000 RPM at 60 MPH.   That is OK.    

I tried taking off the brake drum but it was stuck. I tried to pry it off but had no luck. It got late so I called it a day and will try and figure it out tomorrow. I also ran into another problem. My gas pedal got stuck and as I tried to free it the entire pedal assembly went through the fire wall, bolt and everything. Now I have a large hole where the pedal assembly is supposed to be bolted into. I'll try and post pictures tomorrow.

Here is a thread on adjusting the brakes.

http://community.ratsun.net/topic/65468-adjusting-521-drum-brakes/

To get the rear brake drums off, you probably need to loosen the brake adjustment.  Turn the star wheel up to loosen the shoes.

Apply penetrating oil around the six lug nut studs.  Apply penetrating oil to the hub also.  I have found Acetone, and ATF mixed 50/50 makes one of the best penetrating oils you can get.  Way better than most stuff up buy.