Bought a 521 you're probably all familiar with...

fredges

Hello, I'm new at this, be gentle.

Recently picked up a 1969 521 and I'm really enjoying it. I'm a recovering VW guy, and this is my first foray into Datsuns. Thought I'd share some photos and start up some dialogue. 

l0OIIr6.jpg

V5h5nNb.jpg

6V7Ly1r.jpg

MJrntcQ.jpg

LbmZVUu.jpg

mMG9wZ3.jpg

R5SI3rE.jpg

Working out some vinyl lettering for the raised DATSUN on the tailgate. Haven't quite gotten the size just right, but almost there... I like the brown! Thinking about white reflective, too... though burgundy would match the interior ... damn, decisions...

QtzmrRZ.jpg 

Original rims are being blasted, and will be painted red, with thin whitewalls on them soon. I'll run the stock hubcaps I have, or just leave the lugs exposed, we'll see... (I'll probably sell the chrome rims that are on it now.)

I hope to affix a roof rack to hold my skateboard. I want a gutter-mount unit that won't harm the truck, so I'm looking for suggestions, thanks.

Hope to bring it to Canby.

• Like 10
  • Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks! I do feel lucky. Some might say I paid too much, but I'm very happy with what I got for my money. I sold my '68 bug convertible for almost what I paid for the truck, so WifeUnit was OK with the deal. :D Though she just about divorced me when we went to pick it up ... I drove it 373 miles home, with WifeUnit behind me. At 60-65mph. In the dark. In pouring rain. With a couple of rest stops, took us nine hours. Brutal! :D

Hoping to clean up the wiring, tend to a few rusty bits, get those old rims on it and just drive the heck out of it over the summer. 

Although, I would love to put a console of some kind in it, ahead of the shifter, so I can get a little music in there. We'll see...

Re: the VW comment,