just got my first datsun 720 dual cab. need some tips for the rebuild. (unsure of year)

btd19m

okay so i am new to this and this is my first datsun 720. not sure where to start with it its mostly okay but has a few problems i need to sort out and it badly needs rustwork and a full respray. i plan to completely rebuild it over the next few months and would like some help with this. i love the red and am not sure if its the stock color. the bars in the back are from the old owner they can be removed as far as i can tell. the only problem i have is i can not seem to find a vin plate. theirs 3 plates under the hood and 2 plates on the drivers door. i know it has problems with various parts of the motor but it runs and idles fine and will hold 110km/h for any amount of time (the old owner drove it 3000km to here when he brought it up at 110km/h most of the way(this was a month ago). one thing i don't like is the car does a fuel filter every few weeks and the distributor cap is vented so it lets water into the distributor and causes all kinds of problems. before it was brought up here it was used as a transport car at a vet clinic. its never towed apart from one time 2 weeks ago when i had to rescue a friends trailer. its a 5 speed straight 6 2 wheel drive as far as i know. it starts first turn every time and does not stall or run rich and is getting 24.1km per 3L of fuel. idle is around 1150 cold from memory and around 1200 warm. i went to the wrecker and got a brand new set of lights ($65) its regoed until the end of the year so ive got till then to make sure its in the best shape. everything looks and feels fine and ive had no problems until i lost my keys a few weeks ago and sadly i ended up figureing out my friend by mistake took my keys overseas. the same key fits the fuel cap the fuel cap cover the doors the glove box and the ignitio. i live on a dirt road hence the mud all over it.

big problems at the moment 

vented distributor cap lets in water