POS/NEG ground and COIL wiring

deerio

So in my attempt to convert my 320 to NEG ground, I did a bunch of reading (most MG related, some VW) and decided to finally tackle it. Unfortunately, I've hit a wall and now I'm more confused than before. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------
-My truck has been wired from the day I bought it: black wire from the body to the NEG battery post and the red wire from the starter solenoid to the POS battery post.

-The coil has been wired: NEG coil post to the distributor and the POS coil post to the ignition side of the fuse block.
-------------------------------------------------------------------

With that being said, it SEEMS as if it was wired NEG ground and already been converted right? Well I decided to try out a couple things. Now be aware, I have NO electrical knowledge whatsoever.

So I read about doing a pencil test that involved using a #2 lead pencil and sticking it in the path of spark between the plug wire and spark plug. In theory, I should get a flare between the pencil and the spark plug if the coil was wired correctly. Well it was way too difficult for me to tell what I was seeing, even in the dark.

So I tried using an analog voltmeter. The idea is that with the NEG lead of the meter touching the plug wire, and the POS lead of the meter touching the block, I should ideally see an upward (positive) swing of the meter when the engine is cranked.  A swing going the opposite direction (negative) should mean that the spark is not as strong as it should be and that the coil is wired incorrectly and should be switched.