Matchbox or Pertronix

Bocephus82

Hi fellow Datsuners I'm new to this for and new to the Japanese trucks I've got a 1975 620 I've been working on it's now time for the ignition part to be taken care of so my question to you guys is should I go with the matchbox or the Pertronix 2 kit? Any info is appreciated.

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Or you can use the remote ignitor dizzy and use a GM hei module, works very well and is super cheap to replace if it ever fails. I'm running GM hei on my 510 and my '79 yota pickup, simple installation too.

Yes, the 1978 remote ignitot distributor is good.

Matchbox is better:

* Matchboxrs virtually never fail unless wired wrong, battery connected wrong or overheated by incorrect installation.

* integrated wiring also means more reliable.

* matchbox (1979-1982) is easier to find than remote ignitor. Can even buy new distributor for cheap.

should be sold as a set

distributor with the timming plate and the base thats holds it.

Most Morons grab the distributor and forget the base that goes with it thinking , Jack pot then go home and put it on a L16 motor and base dont line up right and car dont start.

If you have a L20 already there were 2 bases. The common 1 most likely will work then theres another.

olddatsuns.com has this in the tech section read this before any undo mishaps

The only thing worse than Pertronix is points.

Can you tell us what is actually wrong with Pertronix, Z ? Or just another one of your opinions

Pertronix is adapted.Any thing adapted is inferior to the factory design and superior part. My opinions are fact.
Guest Rick-rat

It was faster to install my pertronix than to put in new points and condensor, works great and would use again if needed on another Datsun, my opinion, and it's the one that matters to me