69 Project "Poporocho"

xUltra510

Project Poporocho!

I haven't really introduced myself. I am a 16 year old student living in Novato and I like cars.

It all started back in 8th grade when my friend got his 510. I loved everything about his car. I've always wanted to get something different, something that no one else had. Fast forward to Sophmore year in High School everyone was getting BMW's and those newer cars. I didn't want to be the "usual kid" at school. Kids at school think that they had the fastest car and stuff, I only wanted a car that was fun and something that I liked. A year later in early Junior year (present) I found what I called the "perfect" Datsun. I posted a Craigslist ad back in September, I had a few replies sent via message. Most of them were already restored cars. I wanted to restore a Datsun myself, I didn't want someone elses work. I had received a text message from a man who lived in Modesto. He said, and I quote "interested in a 1969 datsun 510?". From there I didn't really seemed to care about his 510 at first. He sent me some pictures of the Datsun, I wasn't really interested at first. It had a L20B, 4 speed tranny, 32/36 dgev carb and some goodies. 

First Images I received from the seller.

WxWRpgV.png

9XaYC6J.png

BCkkNfW.png

Like I mentioned above, I was not interested in it at first. I told my dad about it. He even said it would be too much work. I didn't contact the guy selling the 510 for another month or so. One day I finally contacted him to see if it was still for sale. He replied that it was still for sale! I then scheduled a day to meet in Ceres, California, about two hours away from my home. That day I went only to see the Datsun, we intentionally wanted to see it in person and to "inspect" it.  It had some dings on the rear right fender. 

r6nclrN.jpg