Steering wheels, seats and coilovers

Rondaddy

I'm a 510 newbie having purchased a restored car a coupla months ago.  My three goals for the car come Springtime are to install new coilovers at all four corners and new seats and steering wheel. I see that some of you like to use a Z car steering wheel. I'm open to that suggestion and also interested in other options that have a period look.  As for seats, I'd like to have something supportive but not too confining. I like the seats I've had in my German cars (BMWs and Porsches).  I remember fondly the seats in the early VW Golfs.  

Any body have suggestions for me as to these components?

Here's my dime (I just learned that terminology here):

1969Datsun510extpfront2_zps6f6e4284.jpg

Here's the interior:

1969Datsun510intddash1_zps17a28121.jpg

1969Datsun510intpseat_zpsc1173c23.jpg

• Like 1
  • Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I like the Corbeau seats a lot.  Their period buckets are especially appealing. 

The car has some Ermish suspension parts (adjustable control arms and the like) so I'm thinking I might go with his coilovers.  

The steering wheel earned some criticism on the General Discussion page and that got me thinking I might like something a little more authentic. The wheel is a little beat up but is a good size and has some nice heft to it (and a handsome Datsun badge in the center).  

The S30 wheel has some merits for looks but too small for proper grip. I liken it to trying to hold onto a coat hanger. All the old Datsuns were this way and your hands get sore wrestling it around. I know sounds pussy but try it and you'll see I'm right. With age comes a strange appreciation of comfort.

I like the Corbeau seats a lot.  Their period buckets are especially appealing. 

The car has some Ermish suspension parts (adjustable control arms and the like) so I'm thinking I might go with his coilovers.