1978 620 Project

SadieD

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum but I've been peeking in since I picked up (or rather had dumped into my driveway) my '78 eggshell white 620.

The truck has a pretty clean body, not too much rust, and a complete interior. It wasn't in running condition however, the engine turned over so good enough :)

I've been working on it for the past few weeks, pulled most everything out of the engine bay, sans block. So far, the carb's been rebuilt, valve clearance adjusted, new intake/exhaust gasket, new ignition parts, timing adjusted, brake lines replaced, new radiator, many new emisions parts.

Today I worked on the hood. The original mounts for the hood hinges were rusted solid and beyond hope. So being a machinist, I made a new pair out of aluminum.

3MWkGrG.png

Here's the cad model, the other mount is a mirror image of this

e77Sek3l.jpg

Machined and installed

Vrr3cyrl.jpg

6aoYXkbl.jpg

q64N5sNl.jpg

The mounts work perfect, the hood aligns proper.

• Like 4
  • Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks!

I guess if my truck's mounts were so badly rusted out, in California, that others might have the same problem. If anyone is in dire need I can make more for the cost of materials when the machine isn't in use.

Here are a few more pics with the hood mounted.

h3ZRICEl.jpg

2jSg4lIl.jpg

I'm going to try to start it today, fingers crossed that my cobbled together carburetor was reassembled properly. I'm almost sure that the choke linkage is wrong, and I haven't figured out where the throttle cable is supposed to mount : /

IM not getting how these mounts work? as I see where the hood bolts to the lever with the 2 holes.but i dont have a 620 so cant see how its works altogether.