Jump to content


Photo

My "barnfind" Datsun 1600 pickup!


  • Please log in to reply
127 replies to this topic

#121 Spiff

Spiff

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Norge
  • Cars:720, mazda b2200, merc s320

Posted 03 March 2017 - 02:03 AM

Just to review, you're running a z24 with z18 turbo and manifold and z22 fuel injection?

 

No, its a complete Z20E with a ka24e turbo manifold(ebay spechulz) and a RB25DET turbo.

 

I did initially swap a Z24 in it with the Z20 fuel injection on it but the valve seals blew after a week of running so in went the Z20.

I do have a Z24 i'm rebuilding at the moment though with wiseco forged pistons and a cometic mls head gasket and ported head which will be swapped in sometime this coming summer. I'm gonna run 14psi of boost through the stock Z20E first and see if it copes  :rofl:



#122 Spiff

Spiff

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Norge
  • Cars:720, mazda b2200, merc s320

Posted 29 September 2017 - 02:08 PM

Alot has happened since last time I was here but most importantly, my car is now running full standalone with the ecu controlling both fuel and spark :)

For spark control I'm running a SR20DET cas with a diyautotune triggerwheel and four toyota yaris coils. The sr20cas sits on a custom designed pedestal in 3d printed nylon.

 

Video of it running :)

https://youtu.be/wrL6gWG7MFQ

 

And the pedestal itself:

https://www.instagra.../p/BX2q2T3jRnR/

 

If you cant see my pictures try one of these fixes:

 

Chrome:

https://chrome.googl...nflicjjgj?hl=en

Firefox:

https://addons.mozil...t-embedded-fix/

 

And for more pics and stuff follow my instagram @sand_sjol :)

 

 

 



#123 Charlie69

Charlie69

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,611 posts
  • Location:Tolleson, AZ
  • Cars:1966 520, 1967 520, 1985 720 ST King Cab, 1986 720 King Cab

Posted 29 September 2017 - 05:51 PM

Sweet Build congrats!!!

 

Is there a possibility you could post a couple pictures of the rear bumperette brackets.  The 720s in the US did not come with them.



#124 Spiff

Spiff

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Norge
  • Cars:720, mazda b2200, merc s320

Posted 30 September 2017 - 12:11 AM

Sure, I'll try to remember it the next time I'm in the garage

#125 Spiff

Spiff

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Norge
  • Cars:720, mazda b2200, merc s320

Posted 03 January 2018 - 04:28 AM

 
Been a few months i see, this has happened since last:
 
Struggled with my engine not running right before I was gonna dyno it, turned out the injectors where all sucking false air in by the injector o rings, so had to replace them and the number 2 injector got clogged.
 
image.jpg
 
Went to get the ecu mapped:
 
image.jpg
 
Ended up with 168hp at the wheels, estimated 201 at the crank and 270nm.
 
image.jpg
 
 
Got a hold of a stock tacho from the US, sadly this was the shape it arrived in :(
Managed to glue it together and mount it but it doesn't work so I have a feeling something more is also broken...
image.jpg
 
didn't get the "window" so had to make one out of 3mm plexiglass, heat gun and dremel
image.jpg
 
I have also shortened the brake booster pedestal(roughly 10cm) in order to get even more clearance to the turbo. Now I can fit some heat shielding
 
image.jpg
 
 
Also made a gauge panel in fusion 360 and had someone 3d print it.
PLX multigauge with wideband and innovate mtx-d oil temp/pressure gauge.
 
image.jpg


#126 Stoffregen Motorsports

Stoffregen Motorsports

    Datsun Mechanic

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,176 posts
  • Location:Cool, CA
  • Cars:http://www.4wdandsportutility.com/features/rover/0611_4wd_1957_range_rover/viewall.html

Posted 03 January 2018 - 09:32 AM

The tach may not be working because of an incompatibility with the new ECU. I am no electronics expert, but I do a fair amount of engine swaps and I have had trouble getting tachs to interface with new ECU's. Sometimes there isn't enough voltage, sometimes you need a "tach adapter", sometimes you need a resistor or an adjustment on the tach itself.

 

This video is for GM LS swaps, but it may shed some light on the situation -



#127 Spiff

Spiff

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Norge
  • Cars:720, mazda b2200, merc s320

Posted 03 January 2018 - 12:57 PM

Yeah I've tried with a resistor like the oem, I've tried adding a relay coil to the wiring to emulate the voltage spike from a traditional setup and i've even tried with no resistor in line. It is dead no matter what, no movement what so ever. So the only thing to do now is hooking it up to a car with a traditional coil and dizzy and check if there's anything happening. If not it'll have to be repaired...



#128 Spiff

Spiff

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Norge
  • Cars:720, mazda b2200, merc s320

Posted 28 March 2018 - 06:09 AM

Some recent wrenching, had to fix a leak in the oil return fitting and needed a new sump gasket so I moved it further towards the front also for a more straight down oil return.

Also made a heatshield for the turbo out of some scrap metal I had. Just needs paint.

 

IMG_20180328_013204_438.jpg

 

IMG_20180328_013204_436.jpg

 

IMG_20180328_013204_437.jpg