Introduction...picked up an 85 720 kc 4x4

GarrettQ

Just getting my feet wet and saying hello.  I recently purchased a 1985 720 KC 4WD ST.  Its pretty rough, and is just screaming for me to save it, so we shall see who breaks first.

Trucks new home is in San Antonio, Texas area, but was purchased in Colorado, and used most of its life up in Washington.  Surprisingly rust is not as bad as i was expecting, but there is some floor pan rot i will have to repair.  The truck is in need of a new front end, which i have mostly ordered already.  Hopefully get started on that next week.

Carb will need work, which is completely foreign to me, so ill definately be reading these forums and/or asking questions on that. Engine does run though, so my carb issues may be as simple as getting it adjusted properly.  Transmission lacks reverse, previous owner said he installed something in backwards which stripped something relating to reverse, im a newbie when it comes to transmissions as well, so hopefully someone can chime in and help me make sense of that. Other 5 gears work fine.  May attempt the trans rebuild myself after i read up some more on it, and see if i feel confident enough. 

Rest of the issues with the truck are mostly cosmetic and minor.  The interior is in horrible shape, i get the feeling i will be going custom with a lot of it.

I look forward to learning about these trucks here, thanks in advanced.

Here are a few pics of the ol girl.   Can anyone tell me what the black plastic pieces on the tailgate are? Is it factory or a dealer option? I assume its some kind of plastic trim piece, like on the early pathfinders, but i have never seen a 720 with something like that.

20140901_165318.jpg

2014-09-15.jpg

20140902_200548.jpg

20140920_120156.jpg

• Like 2
  • Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic