dependable l20b build

mrwatsonn

I'm new to datsun. I have a 79 620 fresh rebuild only 2000 miles. I'm looking for the right cam. And if a different head would be worth it. I'v read a little about the U67 head but unsure. Open to any advise to build somewhere around 200whp

Has anyone seen or heard of an l20b supercharged? I'v been told I could use a thunderbird supercharger and just cut and tig weld the intake manifold

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

from what I've picked up in the realm of cams the further you move from stock the less "streetable" the engine is. What is your desire from the engine? more power for around town? Tow bigger stuff faster? Race up the hill to check your crops? Make it down the quarter mile as fast as possible?

200hp will cost you. If you're building a naturally aspirated L/Z20 based engine, you're looking at $5-6K minimum. A L/Z motor in that horsepower range would barely be streetable.

If you wanted a motor with 200hp and did not care if it was a L/Z you could get that for less and have more street minded manners.

• Like 1

I'm drifting, was looking for more power to get me by until I do an sr20 swap.

How about supercharged ?

And yes I have the tools and space to tear into it.

Save you money for the SR drive as is seriousely. I'm running a S14 SR20DE with Tomie Poncams and oh boy did those cams seriousely wake up the engine. Stock it's 165hp, current condition I'd say about 175/80 ish. I have a worked over head sitting in a box just screaming for work but the SR runs so nice I don't want to touch it. Ya, save you $$$$ for the SR.

200hp will cost you. If you're building a naturally aspirated L/Z20 based engine, you're looking at $5-6K minimum. A L/Z motor in that horsepower range would barely be streetable.

If you wanted a motor with 200hp and did not care if it was a L/Z you could get that for less and have more street minded manners.