New 720 owner here, 84 model and needing tips

newdatsunowner720

Hey guys,

I'm new owner of an 84 model 720 pickup. I have some few questions to ask you guys as a forum. I'm new to any kind of mechanic work like total newbie but I'm mechanically inclined and willing to learn new things on my truck. Okay here's the situation ... I bought my truck and the first day igot it it broke down on my home , luckily wife was following me and we got it towed back home. I traced the cranking problem back to the fuel pump and replaced it. Its running fine now and I haven't drove it any long distance but wanting to use it as a daily commuter (not my only car). The other day when i was looking over the trucks engine I saw that the coolant was low and it was all rusted looking and nasty. I was wondering how to get this out of the system and put New coolant in the system. Also, with engine running fine right now that's know of is there anything I should do to make it run better or any kind of PM that I could do ? also anyone know where I could get a New cheap coolant resovoir for my truck as the one In mine has a whole in it hence that's why all the coolant is nasty.

thanks guys

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Pick n pull should be fine for that haha.

I just pull the lower radiator house to drain coolent.

Re torque your head bolts, z24's, which I think is what you have if you've got a 84, are known for blowing head gaskets every 100,000 miles.

I'll wait for someone smarter than me to give you good instructions on how to do that tho.

A better one is the '84 Nissan FSM factory service manual. It's the bible for your year of truck. E-Bay?