Distributor question

JDMClassic

Hello,

Trying to get my truck started. I'm still pretty new with engine rebuilds and the electrical system. So me and my buddy frank narrowed down the problem to the ignition system. The truck won't fire. We checked the coil and it was good, we held the main spark line that connects to the coil to engine block and there was a spark. I'm thinking it's the distributor. Something's not letting the dizzy send electricity to the spark plugs. Is there a way to test the dizzy for proper function? We swapped out drizzys and still the same problem (won't fire). Before it would fire and bogged out and die now we can't get it to fire. I'm trying to figure out if I need to adjust my timing. But Frank said he had the timing dead on 5 years ago.

My question is since we swapped out drizzys do you think we need to re-do the timing? We started the engine each time we swapped drizzys

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm in the same situation. Maybe check your firing order. Make sure the spark plug wires are in the right location on the distributor cap. And check your wires to thr coil. See if theres corrosion on the terminal connections. And check if your ground connections is good and clean. Check your battery too while your at it.

• Like 1

Do you have a timing light? A very simple way to see if you're getting spark is to put it on the plug wires and crank it over - if you see a flash that means you should be getting a spark. If you don't have a light, you can pull a plug, ground it and crank it - you should see a spark.

The fact that the same thing is happening with a 2nd distributor would indicate that the issue is somewhere else, however. What are the odds of both distributors having the same exact problem?