620 Differential busted

bgmk106

So I was teaching my girlfriend of six years how to drive stick today. It was a jerky experience to say the least. As i drove it out of the parking lot I noticed a faint but continuous clicking noise. So I started to head for home and realized the noise got much louder as i coasted and decelerated. Fast forward to getting home thinking it was just a U Joint, I crawl under and notice nothing odd about it. Spin the wheel and notice the noise is coming from the rear end. So I drain it and it was not a pretty sight. Lots of metal shavings on the plug and chunks sitting on the bottom that i could feel with my finger. Looking in the fill hole I see this

20140806_180244.jpg

As you can see, the base of the spider gear/pinion gear is chunked out on every tooth. I have a feeling this is an easy fix though I have little experience with rear ends and even less knowledge on where I can find these particular gears.

So my questions are

1)are these gears the same for all sizes of rear ends?

2)do other rear ends share the same gears so I can acquire one quickly?

3)Where to find out what diff I even have? I can't find any markings on it nor any of the tags on the truck.

Any help is appreciated. And yes I have tried many searches, none of which help my problem.

Thanks

EDIT: on the diagrams for the rear end it lists the part # as 38425-71200

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hmmm title says 620 but profile says 280z. Well I'll assume it's a truck. The differential will have to come out so rather than taking it all apart why not just replace it. You'll have to get another one for the side/spider gears anyway.

All 620s had an H-190 differential in them with the follwing years and ratios...

'73-'78 4 and 5 speeds 4.375* chances are that you have the most common 4.375

'79 4 or 5 speeds 4.11

'73-'74 automatics 4.625

'75-'79 automatics 4.375*

Raise and drain.

Disconnect driveshaft.