Newbie Datsun 521 owner in San Diego, CA

armycook

Just bought my first 521. It's a 1970 521. It runs but rattles and grinds in different places underneath. I've sold my 83 Hilux to get this truck and now I'm so excited. I work as a civilian contractor inspecting helicopters during the day but don't have a clue about cars. It's sad I know but I know it's not too late to learn. If you're for around San Diego I'd love to get together and learn more about this truck.

I'm in Mira Mesa. You can text. I'd love to find a good Datsun mechanic too that I can hire to help me fix her up.

Dennis

714-600-2877

• Like 2
  • Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Well hey there Dennis! Glad you found a 521. I was able to get mine running again. Try and get us some pictures of the truck. 

Check with all your joints, and bushings. I.E. control arm bushings, tie-rods. Make sure the tie rods boots aren't damaged, and give them a good squirt of grease. Check to see If the bushings are cracked and on their way out, grease those up too.  These old trucks will rattle. It comes with age. Just means you have to be a bit more diligent when it comes to working on them.

• Like 1