Advice between two options?

deerio

Hey all, I have two single headlight 520s that I'm trying to choose from and needed some advice as I know nothing about them and I'm totally new to Datsuns.

The first:

"1966 Datsun 520 pickup, L20B engine, 4 speed, been sitting for 10 years. Body in good shape, performance engine with SSS head, match ported intake, engine balanced, O ring block for high compression, aluminum fly wheel, 2.5 inch exhaust. Needs brakes"

The seemed to know a lot about the truck and he motor and even went over how it was mounted and all. He mentioned the clutch is stuck at this moment. Apparently he's had 2-3 J motors prior to swapping in the L20B. My dilemma with this truck is that it's not running and I don't know what it would take to get it on the road. He's asking $4000.

The second truck is pretty much a 1966 with no known history on the motor. All I know so far is "there is no rotten rust at all i just replaced the slave cylinder on the clutch the clutch and brakes work good you can still start the truck but you have to touch the starter with a screwdriver or you can just crank start it I have an alternator" and the guy is asking $2700

I guess my issue with this is the unknown motor history and whatever else that comes up. The good thing is the guy says it's been his daily driver.

Any thoughts? I'm hoping to check out the one with L20B tomorrow.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

All Datsun engines come from the factory very well balanced. So that doesn't mean much, its expected to be balanced.

I would be most interested in the one with the original engine. Even if it needs some work.

There are a lot of guys that know a lot about Datsuns, but if it doesn't run then the quality of his work cannot be judged.

• Like 1