cnc mill and shop work - mklotz70

My new mill came in.  It's completely off the Datsun topic, except that it will be making Datsun parts at some point.  I figured I'd include shop work here too since the mill won't be making everything.  Most of the vids will be posted to my youtube channel, but it's way easier to carry on a Q&A or even a conversation on here.  I don't expect many to follow, if any, but I've shared a lot of my "stuff" on Ratsun over the years.....figured I'd share this too.

• Like 4
  • Replies 79
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

It's got a 2hp motor.....probably won't use anything over 3/4".  Depending on the job, mostly 3/8" and 1/2" I would think.  I'm still kinda new to machining.  With the manual mill, you can just wing it a bit more.

That's one of the more entertaining things I've seen lately! Thanks for posting. When I started watching I thought "Oh cool. Pro delivery truck. The mill will be on the ground in about a minute. As I kept watching there were a couple of times I thought it might get to the ground a lot quicker than that! And I kept thinking it must not be good to drop something that expensive very far. The final semi-controlled drop was a heart stopper. Glad it all went well.

I bought a smallish South Bend vertical mill at a local estate sale about a month ago. The seller brought it over on a forklift and landed it on a couple of 6X6s outside my shop. I had to raise it up with bars and blocks about another 8 or 10" and build a bridge about 6' over to the shop door. Rolled it in on 1/2" water pipe. It weighs 1600-some pounds, so It took way longer than it should have, but the last time I did something like this I was maybe 15 years younger. I also spared myself any heart stopping moments. Pretty boring actually.

I just ordered a Teco VFD for it yesterday. I spent a lot of time researching phase convertors and such and the VFD looks like it is worth trying.